Skip to main content

tte: Transport, Telecommunications & Energy

The Transport, Telecommunications and Energy Council (TTE) looks at cooperation in these areas to develop coordinated networks and infrastructure which will benefit the internal market and the EU economy as a whole.  Member States are represented by the Minister best-placed to deal with the items on the agenda, e.g. Ministers for Transport, Telecommunications or Energy. During the Irish Presidency, TTE will be chaired by Mr. Leo Varadkar, Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport and Mr. Pat Rabbitte, Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources. 

The key priorities of the Irish Presidency include:

  • Prioritising the Connecting European Facility (CEF).  

  • Progressing a significant body of transport-related legislation including Trans-European Networks (TEN-T), Fourth Rail Package, Airports Package and other transport council legislation (such as the Maritime Labour Convention, Tachograph Regulation, Road Worthiness Package and Passenger Ship Safety).

  • Accelerating work on Electronic Identification (e-ID) and Trust Services which form a key part of the Digital Single Market, alongside other issues such as Web Accessibility and High Speed Broadband.

  • Advancing energy-related legislation in the following areas: Safety of Offshore Oil & Gas Activities, Internal Energy Market, Indirect Land Use Change (ILUC) and the Sustainability Criteria for Biomass.